Grenada · recharge · surreal · The Grenadine Diaries · unplug · vacation

The Grenadine Diaries: Surreal

Standing by the stove making breakfast, I look up to see my mom sitting outside through the window.  The breeze caresses her hair, sending tendrils flying and providing a much-needed cool down from the humidity and heat.  I had to do a double-take as I couldn't believe what I was seeing.  It was just her and the blue hues of the sky and the water dotted with puffy, whitish clouds.

Surreal seems to be the theme of this trip for me.  I'm having a tough time comprehending that I am actually sitting here in this place.  We have access to a private beach, which is phenomenal!  I don't know that I can go back to sharing this space again, though the reality is I have to.  I'm getting spoiled by the sounds and sights of the island.

I love the water.  I could stare at it for days on end and not feel bored or tired of it.  Each wave is unique and brings with it new knowledge.  I was exploring the beach on my own and one of my flip flops got pulled by the current.  I tried to go after it and then thought, it was fine.  I don't need it.  The water brought it back towards me.  I laughed and yelled thank you!  I know it sounds a little nutty, but I just had to do it.  It made me feel light and made me realize that I am really and truly unplugging from the stresses of everyday life back home:  work stress, personal stress, technology/social media stress.  I'm dropping my hustle, albeit temporarily, and fully immersing myself to being away from it all.

Have you ever had those moments where you had to stop and take a step back to fully comprehend what you're seeing?  Words and pictures can't fully capture this.  You have to be in the moment and lock it firmly and tightly into your long-term memory to cherish and remember.

Stay tuned for more…

One thought on “The Grenadine Diaries: Surreal

Leave a Reply

