Africa · childhood · Grenada · recharge · The Grenadine Diaries · vacation · Zambia

The Grenadine Diaries: First Impressions

Hello.  Internet is a bit spotty so I don't know how often I can post.  I am currently enraptured by the sounds and the turquoise blue waters that surround my senses.  We are on vacation in Sauteurs, Grenada.  I've never been, so everything is captivating to me.

Childhood memories were unexpectedly brought to the forefront of my mind from the moment we landed.  I spent many summers in Africa.  My dad is from Zambia and we still have family that live there.  We had to drive a couple of hours once we landed in Lusaka to reach our destination.  The same was true here, though I don't recall the streets in Zambia being so narrow and winding with lush, thick greens.  The biggest reminders from our many trips there were that both Granada and Zambia had were littered with roadside take-aways.  The smells of spices filled the air and were tempting.  As a child, it was easier to get food.  The adults either made sure we stopped to eat something, or we were brats about it.

It has been so many years since I last visited Africa.  This surprising reminder may serve as a siren call to go back again.  I'm sure it's not the same as I remember it.

IMG_2920

Thanks for your patience.  Stay tuned for more…

Leave a Reply

