#cakeconfession · carrot cake cupcakes · cupcakes · orange creamsicle frosting · orange zest · walnut · zest

#cakeconfession

I have a confession to make.  No, I’m not in denial.  I can admit it out loud.  Here goes, I’m one of those people that likes carrot cake.  Phew!  There, I said it.  I feel better now.  Look, I know it’s not the most popular cake flavor out there but I love a good carrot cake.  It’s on my top ten list for sure.  I hope that there are some other carrot cake lovers out there!  If you’re there, this post is just for you!
carrotcreamsicle1
It starts out with a basic carrot cake and ends with a delectable topping that’s to die for!  I came across this recipe on Food Network.  It’s by the Barefoot Contessa, otherwise known as Ina Garten.  This was the first recipe of hers that I’ve tried.
The icing is basically Ina’s recipe (she used a cream cheese buttercream) with the addition of some orange zest.  I love using zest in baking and cooking.  Adding any kind of zest to the frosting lets you taste it as well as see it.  The frosting is not smooth, rather slightly textured.  If that bothers you, then I would suggest you use Ina’s frosting.  If it doesn’t, great, you’re in for a treat!
I can’t even begin to describe the aroma of the orange as I was zesting (is that even a word?) it.  The scent of the zest still lingered as I added it to the icing mixture and once they were on the cupcakes.  It was just heavenly!  So, since the cake has veggies (carrots) and the icing has fruit (orange), does that mean its a healthy cupcake?
What’s your #cakeconfession?
carrotcreamsicle4Here’s the recipe:
Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Orange Creamsicle Icing (adapted from Ina Garten on Food Network)
Yield:  22-24 cupcakes
Ingredients:
for the carrot cake cupcakes:
2 cups sugar
3/4 cup vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
4 eggs
1 1/8 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon  salt
3 cups grated carrots (less than 1 pound)
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
for the orange creamsicle icing:
10 oz cream cheese (I used only 8 oz)
5 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup confectioners’ sugar
zest from 1 orange
Directions:
For directions, follow the link above to Food Network’s website.
Leave a Reply

